The Mayfair Building
This building has been home to many establishments since its construction in 1895. Originally split into two spaces, it housed a pharmacy, many barber shops, and even a library. In 1935, Irene Dalton & her husband joined the two spaces into one and opened the doors to the Mayfair Tavern, which stayed in operation until 1985. Shortly thereafter, the building housed a bar, Mustang Sally's, which closed in 1999. The building was again purchased in the early 2000s and a remodel began to take the space back to its original roots and separate it back into two spaces; one side was to become a coffee shop and the other a data storage facility. Demolition began, but the project never came to be. Which is where our story begins.
The Mayfair building sat vacant for almost 10 years before John Hill saw the space in 2016. Knowing he could transform it as he did the auto-shop he built into the Broad Ripple Brewpub in 1993, he and his wife, Nancy, purchased the building. Shortly thereafter, a full remodel of the building began. With an incredible amount of blood, sweat, and beers, the Mayfair opened its doors October 1, 2018, under the operation of John & Nancy's son, Alec, and his partner, Hilary.
Visit the Mayfair and experience our welcoming, cozy atmosphere and menu of 30+ beers, wine, and classic cocktails, and some of the best pub food you can find this side of The Pond!